Vedic Astrology

Image missing


The system of astrology in practice in India for centuries is known as Vedic Astrology. This is also known as Indian Astrology or Indian Vedic Astrology or Hindu Astrology. Vedic Astrology explains in detail the planetary movements and positions of planets with respect to day and time, and their effects on twelve zodiac signs, their effects on twenty seven Stars (Nakshatra) that influence the personality traits and all different areas of humans.

The science of inferring personality traits is termed as Astrology at the broader level. Vedic Astrology is the term used for Indian or Hindu Astrology system. This system of astrology originated over thousands of years ago and was known as ‘jyotish vidya’, it was documented by our learned sages across the ages in the Hindu scriptures. As “Jyoti” means light, hence the term “Jyotish” means the science of light. This term is very apt as Vedic astrology system deals in astral light patterns that reflects our destiny and future.

Astrology is a part of Vedas. It is a science of predicting events on the basis of the position of planets in a horoscope. It is called a divine science which enables astrologers to look into the future. There are many branches of astrology like horoscope reading, palmistry, varshaphala, numerology etc. to name a few. Horoscope reading is the most accurate one as it is related to the birth time of the individual. The planetary position at the time of birth of an individual is noted for interpreting the results of various planetary influences. The divine science of astrology unfolds the trends of life and tells us in advance of the favorable times as well as of the unfavorable times. It tells us about the period and the types of sufferings one is likely to face, right at birth.

Horoscope charts formation explained

The first step in predicting one’s future starts with preparing a natal chart which is also called a horoscope chart. An individual’s date of birth, time of birth and place of birth play a vital role to determine what their future holds for them. Astrologers use this information to know the correct positions of the planets and zodiac signs and once these are correctly determined, they can prepare the horoscope of the individual. By using this knowledge, analysis of the horoscope is done in great depth and various conclusions and possibilities about the life (Past, present & future) of the person are determined.

Through Vedic astrology, one can get knowledge about one’s inner self, their true purpose in life, their choices and Karma.

Founding principle of Vedic Astrology

The statement “Every action has an equal or opposite reaction” fits well on the laws of Vedic astrology as well. An individual’s fortune is determined by their Karma that is predestined in the cosmic design.

Ascendant Lagna

The Ascendant or Lagna is that point in the zodiac which rises at the time of birth of a person with reference to the place of birth. The position of planets in the zodiac is noted with reference to the earth. The ascendant is the first house in a horoscope and the rest of the houses are reckoned from it.

Ascendant is different than Sun sign and Moon sign. Sun sign is the concept of Western astrology that holds the native’s Sun Sign as per the date of birth and in which Sign Sun was transiting at the time of birth. Similarly Moon sign is the sign where Moon was posited at the time of birth. The sign rising at the eastern horizon is called ascendant. Now, for some people ascendant, Sun sign and/ or Moon sign could be same depending on the position of Sun and Moon.